Quantcast
Cover of The Association of Small Bombs
Rated 3.60
7,003 ratings

The Association of Small Bombs

By: Karan Mahajan

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group

Imprint: Penguin Books

Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9780143109273

Other Formats:

Electronic

On Sale: | Pages: 288

Categories for this book:

  • About the Book
A deeply compassionate exploration of the effects terrorism has on both the victims and the perpetrators.. . . Dark, devastating, and sharply wise,The Association of Small Bombsis a tale of loss, grief, guilt, and redemption.Buzzfeed, Most Exciting Books Coming in 2016 WithThe Association of Small Bombs. . . [Mahajan] may well have moved into the upper reaches of contemporary fiction.Flavorwire, Most Anticipated Books of 2016For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scopeWhen brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their familys television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bombone of the many small bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the worlddetonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland. Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.
Buy the Book
Choose a Retailer