Quantcast
Cover of Amatka
Rated
0 ratings

Amatka

By: Karin Tidbeck

Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group

Imprint: Vintage

Format: Trade Paperback | ISBN: 9781101973950

Other Formats:

Electronic | Audiobook Download

On Sale: | Pages: 224

  • About the Book
A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion. Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.In Karin Tidbecks world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothingnot even language, nor the very fabric of realitycan be taken for granted. Amatkais a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.
Buy the Book
Choose a Retailer