Quantcast
Cover of Aftercare Instructions
Rated 4.37
83 ratings

Aftercare Instructions

By: Bonnie Pipkin

Publisher: Macmillan Trade

Imprint: Flatiron Books

Format: Hardcover | ISBN: 9781250114846

On Sale: | Pages: 368

Categories for this book:

  • About the Book
In the tradition of Rainbow Rowell and Jandy Nelson, a powerful, big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope Troubled. That s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long forgotten dream. But it s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.Aftercare Instructions, an electric, format-crushing debut, full of heart and hope, follows Gen on a big-hearted journey from dorm rooms to diners to underground theaters and ultimately, right into readers' hearts."
Buy the Book
Choose a Retailer